Thumbs down for Facebook

I recently decided to make a website, mostly out of boredom, and I found it difficult to get traffic so I decided to use some free Facebook advertising credit I got with the domain. I wanted to make a quick ad to get people visiting my site and improve its rank in search engines, a task that should have been simple enough, but wasn’t.

I generally avoid Facebook like the plague because I don’t like posting personal information on the internet, plus I don’t trust Facebook to keep such information safe. Anyway, the ad was pretty straightforward but I had to give them payment details, even though I had $50 free credit, oh well I reluctantly gave them a credit card. That was fine and the ad was approved, until 10 minutes later I get the email that is common of Facebook’s arrogance. Due to fraud your ad account is suspended blah blah, then finished with “this decision is final”.

The end part irritated me greatly, made me want to punch Zuckerberg in the face, but I’m sure there’s a long cue for that. Of course, prior to this I was asked to send them photo ID, so I sent them my driving license, albeit reluctantly. So I had now given them my ID and credit card, against my better judgement, and they somehow thought I was trying to commit fraud by doing this! How the hell can I be attempting to commit fraud by giving them money? Morons of the highest calibre, with worse customer service skills than the Nazi’s.

Anyway that was that, my Facebook ad campaign was done forever and no appeal process exists, no phone number exists, nothing, just a wall of arrogance and a clear example of how to piss people off, from a site that is based entirely on people they have no people skills whatsoever. I could blame corporate greed but Google are worth more than FB and they have a phone number, as well as ways to resolve unaccepted ads. Facebook is simply a joke, run by immature morons who have a “do as we say or else” attitude.

Why on earth I had to give them my payment details to use free credits is beyond me, greed for sure. They say it’s in case I ran over my budget but I’m not a moron like they are and I can set my daily/weekly budget to avoid that, or just end the ad after 3 days etc. They are just assholes and a for one loathe everything and everyone involved in the running of this scam site.

